Home | Sitemap | Contact Us | Login   
    » Main » NETWORK GOVERNANCE » Governance Structure

  Governance Structure



Network Coordination Committee

The GEF-CSO Network is overseen by a Coordination Committee made up of up to sixteen (16) Regional Focal Points (RFP) with one (1) from each different geographic region. There are three (3) representatives (Focal points) from the Indigenous Peoples Organizations. The Coordination Committee acts as the final ruling body of the Network and makes decisions on its behalf. The work of the Coordination Committee is led by a Chair and Vice Chair and facilitated by a Secretariat, elected for a four (4) year term by and from the ranks of the RFPs.

Chair and Vice Chair

A Chair and Vice Chair are elected from among the members of the Coordination Committee.

Head of Sub-Committees

The Chair and Vice chair will be supported by the Heads of the Sub-committees who will contribute to the work of the Management Team/Executive Committee] especially in the areas of their respective sub-committee responsibilities.

Sub-Committees and Task Forces

Sub committees are established by the Coordination Committee to assist with its work or undertake work between meetings. The main sub committees are as follows:

1. Governance, Membership and Elections Sub-Committee
3. Outreach, Knowledge Management and  Capacity Development Sub-Committee
4. Strategy and Planning Sub-Committee
5. Technical Sub Committee

Regional Focal Points

The members of the Network in each region elect a member NGO to act as a representative, called a Regional Focal Point (RFP). The elected NGO designates a senior individual to represent it at meetings of the Coordination Committee and other functions. The RFP may also appoint another alternative representative in case the main representative is unable to attend a given meeting. The terms of reference and role of the RFP are given in Annex 3. The RFPs represent their regions in the Coordination Committee and are considered the formal representative of the GEF-CSO Network in their respective regions.

Indigenous People’s Representatives 

Three Focal Points (IPFP) representing indigenous people’s organizations are appointed or elected by Indigenous peoples’ groups from three main regions – Asia Pacific, Africa and the Americas.


The Secretariat primarily holds a support function to the Network and is accountable to its purpose and mission. The role of the Secretariat would be to support the work of the Network both at the time of CC and GEF council meetings as well as between meetings especially. The Secretariat will be appointed from capable members of the GEF CSO Network who is interested to host the Secretariat. 

Country Contact Points

In countries with a large number of GEF accredited NGOs in the Network, the CC may designate a country contact point to facilitate links with the members in that particular country. Such contact points would have the role of disseminating information at the country level and maintain contact with the GEF-CSO members. Country contact points may be nominated by the RFP in their respective regions, and designated by the Coordinating Committee. Their proposed role is not as a formal representative of the Network but a contact point to facilitate communication between the RFP/IPFP and the members in the countries concerned. Depending on experience this role may be reviewed over time.


The Regional Focal Points are elected by the Network members in the respective regions whilst the election/appointment of Indigenous Peoples Focal Points are by indigenous peoples organizations in the respective regions. The Chair and Vice Chair is elected by the members of the Coordination Committee. Elections are all carried out in an open and transparent manner by an Election Task Force established by the Governance Sub-Committee and overseen by the Coordination Committee.

The period of office of the Regional Focal Points and Indigenous People’s Focal Point (IPFP) is four years ( 48 months) from the time of election. Neither RFP nor IPFP may serve more than two consecutive terms. The period of office for the Chair and Vice Chair is 2 years from time of election, and may be re-elected once. However, thier term is up to end of their respective term as RFP/IPFP. The period of office of RFPs/IPFP may be reviewed by the Coordinating Committee from time-to-time and adjusted if necessary.




 Print Friendly